+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default How do I be excited for a pregnant friend after our own losses?

Ok, so the short story is, my wife and I have been doing IVF for almost 4 years.
    Last year, we were pregnant with our daughter, but she was born still. And her anniversary is 3 weeks away. That pregnancy started as twins, but we lost one twin at 7.5 weeks and then lost our daughter at 21weeks 1day.
    When we found out we were pregnant with our daughter and her twin at 6wks 5 days, my best friend was also pregnant but she was 8weeks.

When we we lost our daughter, this friend was like a sister. She supported me and my DP through it, and still remembers milestone anniversaries. Since our daughter's still birth, my partner and I have also lost 2 sets of twins and run out of embryos and cash.

My best friend had a termination at 9.5weeks and I supported her through that.
    Since then every month or 2 she tells me she's pregnant.
    At the beginning of August she told me she was pregnant and that she had a scan and there was no heartbeat so was miscarrying at 9weeks.
    Now she has just sent me pictures of a scan saying she is 10weeks pregnant.

I want to be excited for her, but the timings don't seem to marry up and something just feels off.

How can I support her through this, while experiencing the first anniversary of our loss?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Catemer, I'm so sorry to hear all that you've been through. That must be extremely hard with the anniversary coming up soon too. With your friend, do you feel that she is making the pregnancy/losses up? I'm not sure if I've accidentally misread what you've written about her but I'd say if your gut feeling that something she is saying is off, it probably is.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rocky27 For This Useful Post:

catemer  (21-09-2015),HollyGolightly81  (21-09-2015)

Thanks