+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Studying tips needed!

So I've applied to study next year and all going well, I'll be heading to uni in February. It's been, ahem, 20+ years since high school and I have very little recollection as to how to actually study. So, I'm after some tips...not how to work around family life as such but more how you actually study -
    do you write notes when you read textbooks? Underline things as you read? Allocate certain study times for each subject? Take notes during lectures or just listen? Study with friends? Flash cards?
    I'm trying to get my head into the right space and get prepared for the whole new (exciting!) world I'm about to enter!
    Thanks in advance!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I'm currently in my first year of studying teaching. I've found taking notes of all text books and study notes to be really helpful. Dating and putting what week you are studying. I try to work ahead with my notes eg. I'm week 8 and have study notes completed for up to week 10.
    Read up on your assessments before they tell you to start workin on them, that way you know what you need to focus more on with readings.
    One thing that I didn't do at first but now do- referencing. Reference everything. Research the referencing style (I usually stick to APA). I was only taking down book and author now I take down everything so I'm not tracking it down later.
    Study wise, they say 8 hours per subject, I haven't had to do that yet but I know others do.

Thanks
    Reviews
    You need to work out what kind of learner you are. For me I like to write things down. Others can learn from just reading

Thanks
    Reviews
    Well done!

I went back to uni after not studying since school as well. I'm now in 3rd year of a psychology degree.