+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Children that need to catch up (Primary)

Hi all I'm new to bubhub and looking for some advice. I have 3 children year 4, 1 & Prep and we have just started a new school 2 weeks ago. The oldest had a rough start to schooling with severe bullying through 2 schools until I pulled the kids out to homeschool until we moved away from the area (this was for 7 weeks). Back to that soon. He was very behind and I' not sure why - he is incredibly intelligent but the last school had him at year 1 level on a learning plan. He never progressed over the 2 years he was there and I feel that I had made a huge mistake by allowing it. He seemed to go backwards and was spending very limited time in class which is something I had only found out just before we pulled the kids out. He has got to the point where he doesn't seem to care about school and it's worrying me a lot. My middle child was doing very well apparently and seemed to have no problems at all. She is outgoing and adapts well to pretty much anything. The youngest has no interest in learning at all, hes a march baby and I'm wondering if I should have held him back a year. He has speech issues and I have filled out the forms to have him assessed at school.

So here we are at this new school, I work full time, DH does long hours in his new job and the kids are in after school care each afternoon until 5:30pm. The kids are way behind, the teachers are shocked how far and I can't help be feel I'm to blame. DH says that they couldn't have fallen so far behind in just 7 weeks but I know I continued on from what they were doing before they left the old school. I have no idea what to do or how to catch them up. It's a struggle just to get them to do their homework after the huge days they have. Are they ever going to be able to catch up?