+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Iron Injection bruising - permanent scarring! What should I do??

Hi all,
    I'm just looking for some advice on how to handle this situation, I apologise if this comes over as a bit lengthy & emotionally charged.
    After feeling slightly tired I went to the doctor to find my ferritin was 6. Haemoglobin still ok however. After taking iron supplements orally for a few weeks it went up to 12, but was still tired and (TMI) but so constipated.
    I went to the doc asking if I could get an infusion or something (just wanted it over and done with, I'm not afraid of needles etc.), he suggested iron injections, saying he does them all the time, and I should do 5 in a fortnight. I don't remember him mentioning any risks.
    I intimated that coming back 5 times in two weeks was a lot and he suggested as I'm a nursing student that it would be ok to do them myself or my nurse friend could do them.
    Long story short, they came as ampules so I needed needles and syringes, rang the practise to ask for some and they suggest I go see the nurse.
    Popped in and saw her, she was happy to give them to me and I thought I may as well get her to do the first one in my bottom anyway.
    As soon as I got home there was a massive bruise.

I'm now 3 days down the track and bruise has not improved at all, and upon googling I'm pretty sure what I have is actually an iron stain/tattoo. It is on my bottom and round, about the size of a smallish drinking cup round edge.
    I am furious! The nurse wanted me to stay for 5 minutes after my appointment to make sure I didn't have an allergic reaction but never checked the site.
    I was never told any risks from her, and only knew of the possibility of 'injection site skin staining' from the booklet - but I pictured it to be pin prick size not a large dark bruise!