+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Any Social Workers out there?

Tell me about your career! What do you do? Are you employed part time/ full time? What are the hours like? Do you love it? What does your actual job entail? I am considering enrolling in Diploma of Community Services at TAFE next year. I have a Bachelor of Early Childhood Teaching and I have had ten years experience working with children and families. Does anyone know if this would count towards recognition of prior learning/ give me a step up in the job search process? Do employers prefer tertiary qualifications? TIA

Thanks
    Reviews
    Hi there, I am a social worker and I do love my job!! I have a bachelor and masters of social work and am employed by NSW health. Social workers employed by govt departments usually enjoy much better pay and conditions compared to NGOs.
    To call yourself a social worker in Australia you need to have eligibility to the Australian Association of Social Workers, minimum 4 year SW degree. However I think if you already have a previous bachelors degree there is a 2 yr masters program that will qualify you. Have a look at the AASW website for more info.
    I currently work as a child counsellor PT hours and it's very rewarding.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Lillac For This Useful Post:

bubbasmum  (08-08-2015)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Subbing

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I'm a Social Worker also and like Lillac have a 4 year undergraduate degree and a masters degree. A Diploma won't allow you to be employed as a Social Worker so like Lillac mentioned, check out the qualifying masters program.

I work as a hospital Social Worker, I'm a shift worker and on a flexible parenting agreement which allows me to work part time while my kids are not at school.