+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Bullying a 4yr old

So today when I picked DS up from daycare 3 kids came up to us, 1 said to me 'DS isn't my friend' so I said 'why?' And he said 'he's naughty' so I said 'no he's not, he's a good boy aren't you ds'

So the 2 other kids say 'he is our friend, not ds's'

So I said 'don't worry DS, I am your friends and so is DS2, we love you'

The the first kid says 'I won't be his friend because he needs a new bike, I won't play with him until he has one' (words to that effect)

I just said 'come DS, you have lots of nice friends, don't worry, let's go'

I really didn't know how to handle it at all, I'm new to this playground bullying. My DS has had a tough year but he is a very sensitive sweet child. He would never say or do anything to hurt anyone, and even the carers always say how good he is etc.

How do I handle it better in future and how to I teach my DS that those types of 'friends' aren't needed and that he has many people who love him?

Thanks
    Reviews
    wow I think you handled things very well! I'd probably throw in 'its not nice to pick your friends based on their bikes, we pick friends based on how nice they are, dont we DS?' Then mention the conversation to the teachers

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BerryDelicious For This Useful Post:

VicPark  (28-07-2015),yadot  (28-07-2015)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts