+ Reply to Thread

Default 6 year old struggling at school.

Hi All,

I am new to the thread and just wanted to say hi!

I was also hoping for a bit of advice. My daughter is 6 years old, grade 1.
    She has always been an average student, struggled a little with sight words and remembering days of the week, also write her numbers, name and other words backwards from time to time. However we have now moved area and changed her school mid year, and at this new school she is extremely far behind. Most of her class are reading at a grade 2-3 level and independently reading and answering questions in a PRIME maths book.

I feel so bad for her. her teacher has mentioned on several occasions how much catching up we have to do, and how far behind she is. we have been doing homework almost every day for nearly an hour since she started ( 2weeks of last term, the school holidays and this week).

she does quite well when are doing homework together, and has already shown great improvment. but asking her to answer the sums or read a sentence independently and it all seems to go out the window.

I would also like to get her tested for dyslexia, just incase.

who knew year 1 could be so much pressure and so stressful!

Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Oh what a stressful situation for you OP. Is it just reading that is an issue? Has the school suggested what the 'next step' might be? If it were my daughter in this situation I would be speaking to the school welfare person/psychologist to see what your options are for assessment. In Victoria there are a number of public clinics that see kids with suspected learning disabilities/difficulties. Though the wait list may be long, could you see if there is something like that where you live? It might be worth putting her name down on a waiting list now just in case you want to go ahead with it.