+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Gut health - pls tell me all about it

Can anyone tell me more about gut health and why it's so important? Can anyone explain what water kefir is and what it does / how it works etc?

Thanks

Thanks
    Reviews
    I am not a doctor, and this is just my understanding, but the microbes in your gut help to break down your food and also produce significant amounts of certain vitamins for you. They are a factor in your immune system and gut flora problems have apparently been implicated in auto immune disorders. (Paediatric gastroenterologist told us to be careful with losec as it could change gut flora and increase the chances of MS or diabetes.)

We have been making milk kefir for about a month now after buying the grains online. It has already helped my husband's lactose intolerance. I just find it cheaper than buying probiotics for my entire family. I have been taking probiotics since needing strong antibiotics a while back and have had my baby on them since she also had strong antibiotics at birth and losec afterwards. I imagine water kefir would be similar to milk kefir and help to keep up the population of "good" microbes.

Just be aware that it can get tedious having to strain and sterilise jars every day.
    Last edited by Cardi; 14-07-2015 at 22:21.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts

I've been reading up on this a lot lately , my SIL is a naturopath and is doing tons of research on it but in a nut shell there are trillions of bacteria in our gut, some bad bacteria ( endotoxins) can "leak" into our system causing inflammation ,unhealthy foods ( processed foods, junk food, fast food, refined carbs, high fat etc ) increase these bad bacterias