+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Help a new single mum out?

Back story - controlling ex did everything for the last 8 years. I'm just learning how to take care of a car, budget for bills etc. Be nice to me.

How do I get the Internet switched on???

I've tried a couple of service providers and they all say they can't provide Internet to my address. It's soo frustrating.

I have a plug in the wall for a landline so I know there is a phone line into the unit, I don't understand why they just cant send Internet down that! lol

Who do I call to find out which service providers can provide our little house with this basic nessessity (jokes but would like to know)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    It's possible there aren't enough lines in your suburb. I know when we moved, we had to wait for someone to leave the suburb before we could get the Internet connected due to their being more houses than available ports! It's ridiculous.

What reason have you been given for them being unable to provide the service?

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Californication For This Useful Post:

BerryDelicious  (28-06-2015),Pusheen The Cat  (28-06-2015)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    We can't get broadband because our phone exchange is too old. We have to wait for it to be upgraded. After ten years I've given up. I just use teltras wireless. It's bloody expensive though!

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Wise Enough For This Useful Post:

BerryDelicious  (28-06-2015)

Thanks
    Reviews
    We're renting and the phone line into the house was severed when our landlord put in a retaining wall a few years ago, long before we moved in.
    Unfortunately for us phone connections aren't considered a necessity anymore so he doesn't have to fix it...grrr.