+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Looking for the best Private Health Cover

Hi,

I'm new to the BH. My husband & I are looking to start a family & are looking for the best private health cover - one that covers everything including elective caesarians. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Hi and welcome!
    I would recommend speaking to one of those comparison people like iselect about the best one to suit your needs. I would think most PHI would cover elective c/s.
    I'm with defence health who are amazing! They've covered 3 elective c/s with no excess, over 10 surgeries again with no excess, many hospital stays, 2 insulin pumps worth $10k plus all the extras.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    The government also has a comparison website for PHI which represents all companies (i-select only do a selected group of insurers). Im also dirty at i-select as they kept calling me after I used the website once.
    I think most PHI will cover the cost of elective c-sections (as long as you select the pregnancy option). From my understanding, its more about your ob- whether their costs will include all situations during the hospital stay for birth. The ob I will be using (if I get a BFP that sticks around) charges a flat fee regardless of whether you have a VB or c-section (including elective c-section).
    PHI won't cover all or even most of the cost of the obstetricians fee for delivery/birth, the rest of the fee you will have to cover. PHI covers the hospital side of it, which I hear runs at around $1000/day.

Thanks
    Reviews
    When are you looking to start a family? Most insurers have a 12 month waiting period on Maternity cover.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Quote Originally Posted by Alicia111 View Post
    When are you looking to start a family? Most insurers have a 12 month waiting period on Maternity cover.