+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default WWYD Job interview

So after 6 months of not working and doing some stuff to improve my health and also focus on IVF I have decided to go back to part time work.

My issue is we are also planning another IVF cycle very soon. I'm torn as to weather I just pretend I'm all in or do I tell them the truth about the possibility of needing time off.

I really want to get back to work and this is the only thing holding me back. I am a nurse so qualified but not irreplaceable or the only candidate.

I'll be having a phone chat with a prospective employer later in the week to set up an interview.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

If you really want to work, go back and delay the cycle until you've been there for a few months. That way you can get a feel for their tolerance of time off and also means you'll be eligible for mat leave as you'll have been there a year by the time bub is born, should the cycle work.

ETA - don't tell them you're planning a pregnancy. It's not their business and it shouldn't influence their decision to hire you.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Thanks @Cue! I'm just struggling with how honest I should be. I guess you are right in saying it's none of their business.

Thanks
    Reviews

It's absolutely none of their business. Don't tell them.

Eta, I missed out on a great job and maternity leave because my employer found out accidentally that I was TTC. Even though they can't legally discriminate, they do.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts