+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default AUSLAN and baby sign

Hi I have an 11 month old who isn't deaf. He can say "dad" "ta" "bub" and "mum" though I don't know yet if he understands what he's saying...

Anyway I have been doing an AUSLAN course and I know basic words and sentences which I'm hoping to teach my kids especially my baby. I've been signing basics words like "mum" "dad" "bottle" "more" etc he hasn't signed any yet but I want to know for those that use AUSLAN on hearing/vocal babies how long before they sign back or recognise signs/words? I am hoping to one day become fluent in the language myself and I'm also learning about deaf culture. Only been learning a few months though..

almai is offline "you never know how strong you are until being strong is the only choice you have."
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I have my diploma of Auslan interpreting but I got slack in teaching my son. I used to sign lots when he was a baby and he signed milk at about 6/7 months (but not regularly).
    I stopped signing with him (long story why but I lost confidence in my signing so abandoned everything)
    Now he is 20 months and I try to sign more but he won't look at me so I keep giving up! He understands quite a lot of signs but won't sign them back.

My friend is married to a deaf man and their daughter has just signed her 1st sign "mum" at 10.5 months and they use Auslan everyday aswell as lots of spoken English.

Keep signing because 1 day it will click and your little one will start signing back all of a sudden

Good luck with your studies too!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    I sign with my daughter. It's best to use words to sign that mean something really tangible. Like milk or bottle. ..Finished or more. Food/eat etc.