+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default Cultural diversity- accepting/abuse etc

At uni we basically got told leave it and accept. (Sudanese, Afghanistan etc). It's not our business. They are different to Australian way if we don't like it then it isn't career for us.

I don't want state what I'm studying. But is this wrong? Shouldn't we be implementing Australian way (softly of course) and reporting? Or am I just thick lol. What happens if that mother and child wanted to leave in abuse circumstances etc hope that makes sense

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    It's not exactly clear what you're asking. But if you are witnessing child abuse, in Australia, then it is reportable. Doesn't matter the cultural background, laws are laws and apply to everyone living here.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I'm assuming that you are studying some sort of community services course. It really depends on what you are talking about. If it is domestic violence, then I wouldn't leave it and accept it, I would offer options.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    If I remember what you're studying correctly, then you will see cultural practices which are incredibly different to the 'Australian way' of doing things. I think it's important to recognize the difference between abuse and different cultural values. If it's abuse, then I'm sure there is a process for you to report it (not sure if you have a mandatory reporting kind of thing).

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I'm not clear on the question but everyone who lives in Australia has to abide by our laws. Domestic violence and child abuse are illegal no matter what your cultural background is.