+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Mud cake tips?

I am a complete cake novice, but want to attempt a white chocolate mud cake with buttercream frosting for an event this weekend.

Does anyone have a tried and true recipe/any tips to get a great cake?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    If you want the cake to be white on the outside you are better of icing it with white chocolate ganache - and its just as yummy! Buttercream tends to look quite yellow because of the amount of butter. You can make it look a little lighter by adding the tiniest bit (i meam the end off a toothpick) of violet/purple food colouring (it will cut the yellow) or the recipe girl site has a buttercream that also uses some cream cheese to soften the yellowness.

Find a recipe for a dense white chocolate mud cake, I always cook dense cakes at a lower temp for longer (ie: 160 degrees) so it stays moist inside. With making this type of cake you can do it ahead and freeze it already ganached (helps seal the cake and keep the moisture in) just take it out 2 days before you need it. i just did Dd1s birthday cake and it was devine.

If you use ganache, you might need to do a few coats of ganache (ganache/fridge/ganache/fridge) to get a smooth and thick coating.

Goodluck I am sure it will turn out great!

Thanks
    Reviews
    I have a great one my sis used for our wedding cake. Will track it down for you. From memory its massive amounts of sugar and eggs

Agree about ganache too. It also looks very effective. You can even do some slabs of white choc to decorate.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I have used this one before with success..

http://m.aww.com.au/food/recipes/201...late-mud-cake/

I would also use ganache and not buttercream. I find buttercream quite dense and with a mud cake I think it would be too much.