+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Starting prep at 4 or 5?

So I would love to hear from all the teachers here, is it better for a child to start prep at 4.5 or 5.5, as this is what my daughter will be! My sister in law is a teacher & says she will do 100% better being that little bit older! I worry that she could have kids 12 months younger than her in her class! Will that affect her?

2. The Following User Says Thank You to joalisha For This Useful Post:

debsch  (29-01-2015)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Subbing! Interested to hear some opinions

Thanks
    Reviews
    I am a teacher and would say 100% 5.5 rather than 4. I think ideally all children should be 5 turning 6 in their prep year. I wouldn't worry about younger children in the class. There are so many things emotionally, socially and academically that need to happen for school readiness and these occur for most children in their 5th year.
    That said, you know your child best so are best able to make decisions for them! Good luck.

5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MillieMollyMandy For This Useful Post:

Chippa  (29-01-2015),Mod-Nomsie  (29-01-2015)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Starting prep at 4 or 5?

As a previous prep teacher 100% better to be older than younger!
    Emotionally and maturity wise I could always see a big difference between the child starting at 4 and those who were already 5

Thanks
    Reviews
    I agree with millymollymandy, I'm a teacher in secondary school and it's extremely obvious which kids are that little bit younger. I always say that older is better!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts