Default Arranging Playgroup Christmas party...any suggestions?

I have been appointed playgroup christmas party organiser for my bubs playgroup.:tree:

I have never done this before...anyone able to help with some suggestions...some details of what I have so far - which isn't much mind you :-
    • Age of kids - 18 months to 26 months
    • Trying to find someone to dress up as santa
    • Mums to bring a wrapped present (a book) to be handed out by santa
    • Christmas music
    • Christmas decorations
    • Everyone brings a plate of christmassy food
    We have a great room with heaps of space to do things in....but what?....I just seem to have a bit of a mind blank with this.

Is there an easy christmas craft you could suggest or a few christmassy games to place???
    DS - The reason for my grey hair
    DD - The reason for my muffin top

Anyone?

For our playgroup Christmas, we had a bouncey castle and a few paddling pools (it's stinking hot here). The kiddies (and mums) paddled and bounced!

Everyone bought a plate of party food to share and then the fat man in the red suit arrived (on a motorbike!) and all the kids got a pressie (we had each put in $5 before hand.

An easy activity is to decorate milk arrowroot bikkies with red and green icing etc...

Good luck with it all
    Always be yourself unless you suck ~ Joss Whedon

I missed our playgroup the week they had all the christmas craft activites, but a few i can remember them having were (& some i made up myself):

*christmas cards - a piece of A4 paper folded in half with a photocopy on coloured paper of a picture of a xmas pic eg candle, santa, xmas ball or candy cane. This pic was stuck on the front of the card. They then had a table set up with glitter and glue to decorate.

*foam balls with crafty bits and pieces to decorate.

*photo copy of santa claus to colour in

*photocopy cutouts of xmas decorations with a hole and string in the top. Kids can colour them in or stick craft pieces on them.

Hope some of those ideas help.
    Miss J - 2004
    Master K - 2007

Any other ideas....Thanks

Default Christmas party

Hi, I'm organising the party for the pre school kids at work.
    you could
    decorate your tree if you havent already or get a small one for the kids to do.
    make some party hats together, crowns work really well.
    musical chairs,
    musical bumps,
    musical statues.
    draw a big snowman and laminate a carrot nose and play pin the nose on the snowman.
    laminate all their names on penguins or stockings and hide them about the place, or if they cant find their names thoren just hide chocolates.
    hold a mini raffle- make some big tickets with numbers to ten, you can have a shape and a number on each ticket so they are all different then get sweets for the prizes and a teddy for the main prize.
    get cardboard boxes and let the kids try and wrap them.
    make paper chains
    use wrapping paper to make collages.
    decorate biscuits
    tell a story as you move around the room, 3 little pigs if you have three tents, they will want to be everything and they just love it.
    give them each a balloon and see who can keep it in the air the longest.

good luck with your party
    Merry Christmas