+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a week

Default Can one engage in another work while on unpaid ML?

Hi all,

I was hoping someone could shed some light into this for me.

I'm preparing for my next lot of ML. My employer is currently going through a massive restructure of the business.
    I do not want to stay with the company based on the future structure of the business. However as I'm a high performer in my job they are not keen to let me go.

Now that I'm pregnant and going to go on ML for 1-2 years, I'm confident that they will make me redundant.

That might not happen before 18months into my ML.

So my question is am I allowed to engage in other paid work while on unpaid ML with my current employer?
    I was thinking of doing some contracting job (I'm a sole trader too).

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    You can legally, but you should check your company policies as there might be some restrictions on the type of work you can do, I.e. You probably wouldn't be allowed to work for or act as a competitor to your current employer.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to JR03 For This Useful Post:

ExcuseMyFrench  (28-11-2014)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a week
    Quote Originally Posted by JR03 View Post
    You can legally, but you should check your company policies as there might be some restrictions on the type of work you can do, I.e. You probably wouldn't be allowed to work for or act as a competitor to your current employer.
    Thanks @JR03

I would def not work for any competitor - the industry is dying anyway so not much work there!

I could not find anything specific in the Fair Work Act. Will try and dig my company policy on Parental Leave.

Thanks
    Reviews