+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Baby blues or PND?

Hi, I'm new to this so hope I'm posting in the right spot. I have a 5wk old baby, my first. Def had experience with baby blues for first two wks after birth - unfortunately I'm still experiencing some symptoms & I'm finding it hard at times to cope with all this. I'm not sure if I'm suffering from baby blues still or if this is the start of some sort of PND? Does anybody know if Baby blues can still be around at the 5wk mark? Thanks for any advice.
    Last edited by Ruby0206; 08-11-2014 at 23:42.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I don't really know, to be honest. With my first I think I always knew what I was experiencing was PND. It didn't feel minor enough to simply be the baby blues.. I found the adjustment to motherhood really quite difficult. On some level I think that everyone experiences that, but for me the depression/isolation/fear/anxiety was definitely heightened. I never got help and I regret that. It took me quite some time to settle down and enjoy being a mum. The second time round, all I felt was elation. I was on cloud nine from the moment she was born. So I feel like my experiences have been two extremes.

Have you taken the PND test? Maybe ask your gp for one and see how you score? It's definitely worth getting on top of sooner rather than later if it is PND.

hope you start feeling better soon, and a big congrats on your baby

Thanks
    Reviews