+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Invitation for parents of children aged 2 to 8: Help us improve Parenting Programs!

Dear Parent,

My name is Melissa Harrison. I am a Registered Psychologist enrolled in a Doctorate of Clinical Psychology Program at Charles Sturt University. I would like to thank you for considering to participate in my research. I am investigating the influence of parent variables on approaches to discipline, particularly in relation to the disciplining of 2 to 8 year olds. In agreeing to participate, you will be contributing to research aimed at improving the design, delivery and targeting of parenting programs.

The survey will take 20-30 minutes to complete (so grab yourself a cuppa!) – but there is no time limit. The survey includes some demographic questions and four brief questionnaires. The first questionnaire concerns the way people think and act in different situations, the second relates to different ways or styles of dealing with child behaviour problems, the third asks you to make hypothetical choices about your preferences for smaller amounts of cash now versus larger amounts later, and the final questionnaire asks you your views on the most effective ways to manage a variety of parenting problems.

Participation in this study is completely voluntary, and as a researcher I am obliged to protect your confidentiality: Only my supervisor Associate Professor Dr Graham Tyson and I will have access to the surveys, and as they are entirely anonymous, we will not know who has completed each one. All information will be stored in a locked filing cabinet for five years after the project’s completion, after which time it will be shredded.

We do not foresee there being any risk to you in participating in this study. However, if the process makes you feel vulnerable or upset, you can contact one of the following for support: Lifeline (132 132), or the Australian Psychological Society’s Psychologist Referral Service (1800 333 497).