+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default Part Time v full time work

So just curious...
    DH works full time. I have just got a very much needed part time job which I love. This job will help our financial obligations greatly in helping look after our DD who has a syndrome. Plus I get to do something for me.

Who has the most important job? Him or me?

My thoughts. .. They are both equally important. But he's just told me that his job is more important. .. coming from a place where he will probably have to look after her at home tomorrow because DD is sick and cannot go to daycare. He says a full time job is way more important than part time. I tried to sit down to do planning as I'm a teacher today but he wanted to do his work so it was very hard for me with DD hanging off my legs! ! Again. .. He sees his job more important. But I disagree.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using The Bub Hub mobile app

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    If your job is not as important, ask him how he'd feel if you gave it the toss then?

Both are important and should take turns in taking precedence. I have had the same issue at times, when DS has been sick it's me that takes time off, which is ok some of the time. Balance is important a for both jobs. I know we're both in education and I think compared to DH industry it has been easier for me to take the time but it's still frustrating how it's an expectation rather than a compromise or negotiation.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Main issue is that I've only been back one day! !! And my second day on the job I had to take the day off. I cannot possibly take another day. I desperately want them to offer me more contracts.

He nagged and nagged about getting a job. .. Now I have one he's not supportive. .. Though thinks he is.

Thanks