+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default The dreaded questions....

I'm mulling over everything that has happened over the last week for dh and I. We lost our pregnancy after an ectopic at 6 weeks.

I'm not looking at returning to work until the week after next. I'm kind of dreading the return to work. My workmates are fine, they know what's happened and are very supportive.

It's my clients that worry me. I'm a family lawyer so I'm constantly dealing with parents and issues with kids. I am constantly - and I mean almost weekly - asked by clients if I have kids or am planning too. It's hard enough when we were ttc for ages and getting that question but now, I think I'd break down and cry. I don't know what to do the next time this happens.

I'm also worried they are going to want to know why I was off for three weeks and didn't tell them. If I'm off sick for one day some of them get very put out and are really cranky. I hate to think how they will be when I get back after three weeks. Even the ones that are being genuinely nice, I don't know what to say when they ask why I have been off for so long.

Id love to just stay at home and never go back.... But that's not an option

Thanks
    Reviews
    I too work for a law firm, and it's a bit like pre-school - any little tip bit clients can get about your life it brings them closer to you in a pretty sicko kind of way. Just say you had gastro. If the enquire further, just say they dont want to know the details. If they push further, just say it's company policy not to advertise sick leave to the clients, there is always cover, and point to something on the papers infront of you and continue.

If they ask about having kids, just say "we dont discuss such things, no ..." and trust me, they don't ask again.

Good luck!

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Hulahoop For This Useful Post:

Chillies  (07-07-2014),Mellie29  (07-07-2014),mzshaz  (07-07-2014)

Thanks