+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Anyone a counsellor or psychologist? Study and job advice

Hello there. I'm curious about counselling and psychology and I'm thinking of starting back with study in this area but unsure what course to do and what career prospects are like??
    So anyone working and/or qualified in these fields, could you give me some info please? Eg courses you did, what area you've worked in and what you're working in now? Do you have your own business?

My other question is about how to you keep not getting too involved or personally involved with the client? I'm a person that wants to try to help everyone, so I'm wondering if it would stress me out too much with feeling of helplessness IYKWIM....

Welcome to add anything else I need to know.
    TIA

Thanks
    Reviews
    I have a Bachelor of Social Work but have never worked in the field other than as a disability support worker whilst studying. Don't know if things have changed now but I graduated during the recession & couldn't get a job - I was constantly told 'your application was great, we were very impressed. Give us a call when you've got 12 months full-time paid experience in the field & we will see if we have a position for you'. My voluntary work, paid casual work & work experience during the course were worth nothing. Then it got to the point, after about a year of unsuccessfully looking for a job, where I started getting told by employers 'oh you graduated a year ago & have never worked full-time in the industry. Obviously you don't really want to work in the industry then do you?' So to be honest I just gave up & went and re-trained and got a job in admin, where I've worked ever since.