+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Dealing with difficult parents (as a teacher)

Hi everyone,

I am just chasing some ideas for what people do to deal with difficult parents..I am a teacher, I love my job and class, I won't say where I am but anyway moving on. I have had a rather rough day (not as rough as some of course) with a child/ parent in my class. This child has gone home ( on a number of occasions) a told flat out lies about what myself and other kids have 'done' to this child. I am never given the opportunity to defend myself or even discuss these issues with the child before his Mum comes ranting and raging to see the principal and been has tried to get me fired before. Te child is apparently 'scared' to tell me the issue because I 'protect' the other child...completely untrue. I apply my classroom rules the same with every child and am extremely approachable.

Sorry for the rant, I am just sick of this parent treating me like garbage. Any suggestions on what I can do? My stomach has been churning all day, I bend over backwards for this child and this is what they do!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    What does your Principal say? Can the child be moved?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Is the principal on your side? Have they made any suggestions on how to cope?

Thanks
    Reviews
    My principal is fantastic. Sadly no, he can't be moved, I am in a 2teacher school, one being me and the other the principal

Thanks
    Reviews
    Is the principle able to sit in on one of your classes to observe what happens?

6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lisaandshaun For This Useful Post:

Katvee  (19-05-2014),VicPark  (19-05-2014)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Awards: