+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default First time mum, lots of questions!

Hi everyone! I have been reading the bub hub forums since I found out I was pregnant and have found them very useful so thought I would post some questions I have! I'm sorry in advance for the novel, this has been brewing in my mind for 33 wks!

I am pregnant with my first child and am due on the 29th June, about 7 wks away.
    I have read heaps of information about pregnancy and birth but am still a little scared about the whole process and also taking my baby home for the first time. I have a wonderful husband but he is very inexperienced with children (I'm pretty sure he held his first baby this yr when friends of ours had their first). I have had lots of experience with children, I am a primary teacher and also worked in child are and nannied for a yr with a 3 y.o and 6 month old, it's just the newborn stage I'm a little cautious about!

So my first question is, what are some techniques you have used during labour to help you with the pain of contractions?
    When I was in my early 20's I was convinced I would elect for a c-section (before I had either met my husband) the thought of something coming out down there still gives me the erks, yet I have been told the recovery from a c section is a lot longer than v birth and therefore am going to try for a natural birth. A lady at my work (who is pregnant with her 4th) gave me advice on breathing during contractions. She told me to breath in for the count of 6 and out for the count of 8 so I have been practising that. It is the only advice I have been given!

Does anyone have any advice on when to go to hospital during labour?