+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Bachelor of Early Childhood Education

I'm thinking of applying for the above through Swinburne online and was wondering if there is anyone out there that has/is doing this degree or is a early childhood educator that could shed some light on what it is like.

I'm interesting in knowing the job prospects for a new grad and also if you would still need a cert 111 in Childcare to wok in Childcare while studying this course to help gain some experience working with children?

My background is aged/disability care so this is another world to me but something I am interested in

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    There are some conditions around qualifications on the ACECQA website. If you go to their site and look at qualifications, then the section on actively working towards you will find info on requirements.
    Basically once you start your ec degree you are equiv. to a cert3, once you are 30% through classed as a diploma, 50% through classed as an EC. That may change as people up skill but due to shortages they have that in place at the moment. Most areas have a pretty high demand for staff.

Thanks
    Reviews
    thanks so much will check out the website

Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub appw

Thanks
    Reviews
    bump for anyone else that is or has done this course

Thanks
    Reviews
    Hi giggle. My sister is. I think the job prospects are definitely good! I would love to be an early childhood educator, I love children. I did consider it but ended up in a different line of study but still involving child welfare. I think if you genuinely like hanging out with little kids you can't go wrong with this course OP. My sister started out as an unqualified childcare worker, then after a few of years did her cert III and now her diploma. She loves it.