+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default NT scan: hopefully helpful information for high risk results

When we got bad news after our NT scan I found it very hard to find any information on this topic. I hope that my findings will help people to feel more informed on their options and choices. I'm not a medical professional myself so I may be very wrong with some info or conclusions. Also I'm pretty sure that actual doctors can give you most accurate info for your particular case and you may not have some options depending on individual cases.

When you have a high NT measurements (over 3.5mm) it may be a sign of either genetic abnormality or heart problems. To investigate further into genetic abnormalities you have 3 options:

Harmony blood test
    Positives: non-invasive, so no risk of miscarriage
    Negative: will cost you lots of money ($400-900 I got different estimate prices at different places), this is not a diagnostic test, but it will recalculate your risk many times more accurate than NT scan
    Overall: it's good if your results are borderline and you not sure if you want diagnostic tests

CVS
    Positives: will give you certain results on most common genetic problems, can be performed earlier (before 14 weeks), bulk billed when done at the public hospital
    Negatives: official stats have 1% of miscarriage risk, procedure is a bit uncomfortable
    Overall: good option if you want to know for sure and if you can't wait long especially if your results are high (over 4mm). Sometimes this option is not available if your placenta is in bad position or if your placenta is not functioning well (based on one of the blood results that you have done for NT scan)

Amniocentesis
    Positives: will give you certain results on most common genetic problems, less miscarriage risk than CVS (0.5%), bulk billed when done at the public hospital