+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Career change but to what?

I'm lost - perhaps a 2yr early mid life crisis!

I have an Arts degree and a masters in commerce.

I've been out of the work force proper since being pregnant with DS in 2006. I've done some book keeping/finance/admin work for friends and a family business (4 days a week) but it's boring me silly. I'm sick of the work, no real social interaction and I'm just over it.

Trouble is I've never found my niche in the workforce, my degrees are broad but almost outdated, I have work experience but not in a specific field. Both kids are at school next year so need flexibility which my current work has but that's hard to get elsewhere.

I don't know what I want to do or how to even figure it out, I just feel lost and like I'm wasting my chances at a career but I don't know in what.

I'd like to work in a hospital but don't have health background and the admin jobs I could do are a massive $$ backwards to where I was pre-DS. I don't really want to do another degree but short courses I've looked at seen a bit iffy.

Any ideas on where to go or how to figure this out?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Awards:
    200 Posts in a weekBusiest Member of the Week - week ending 5/6/15100 Posts in a week
    what about in the hospital warehouse?
    OR
    hospital security?

Or how about a job in an aged care home or disability care home. Yes it is not well paid but very rewarding.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Awards:
    Busiest Member of the Week - week ended 17/4/15100 Posts in a week
    Quote Originally Posted by ICanDream View Post
    I'm lost - perhaps a 2yr early mid life crisis!

I have an Arts degree and a masters in commerce.