+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Shift work tips please!

Hi all

Next week I have a panel interview for a job which involves a 24/7 rotating roster and I've been told that they will ask how I plan to manage/cope with working the shift roster.

The shifts are 12 hours 6am - 6pm and 6pm - 6 am 4 on and 4 off. I've never worked shifts before.

I would love to hear from any shift working hubbers on how you cope and manage it (around family etc) and if you have any tips to offer me please. I would especially love to hear from nurses, police or paramedics as these are close to the industry I'll be working in.

Thank you in advance

Thanks
    Reviews
    I am on that exact rotation, and in the emergency services industry.

They'll ask how you plan on coping with the shifts, what strategies you will use etc. I think it is good to be honest, start with acknowledging that it will be an adjustment that you're willing to take. Nothing annoys us more at work, than people who belittle how hard it is to work 12 hours, 2 days, 2 nights, 4 off, but it always amuses us when they crash and burn because they weren't prepared.

See it as 3 days off, not 4. Because the first day you will be sleeping and recovering from that last night shift.

Have a plan for how you will turn your body clock around in between the days and nights. It is a challenge at first. But it's imperative that you're not feeling fatigued at work, peoples lives are in the balance.

In my panel, they asked one or two questions about shifts, however a lot on stress. So be prepared for those questions also.

Good luck

Sent from my GT-I9505 using The Bub Hub mobile app

Thanks
    Reviews
    Thanks so much for your reply.

It sounds like you are working in the same job

I will definitely take on board what you've said, yes the long shifts is what's concerning the most but I'm sure I (and family) will adjust.