+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Fear of being alone at night - panic attacks

I have an irrational fear of being home alone at night. I have no idea what caused it but I have always been afraid of the dark.

I'm looking for ideas to manage it as DH is going away for work this week. I got a referral to a psych but I'm not able to get an appointment before DH goes away.

Breathing exercises don't work for me, neither does progressive muscle relaxation. I have been trying guided meditation & it helps a bit but I'm only really new at it & need a lot more practice & yet to try it when I'm highly anxious.

Usually when I'm in this situation I'm on the edge of a panic attack the entire time & then if I try & go to sleep that sets one off. I have a night-light or sleep with the light on, I leave a radio or the tv on, I have my phone & a torch right next to me, I check the house is secure etc, what else can I do??

At this point I'm considering just sitting up watching movies for the entire night. I will still be extremely anxious but hopefully will be able to avoid panic attacks. Only problem with that is I have to work the following day which is a problem if I've had no sleep at all.

My parents don't have a spare bed so I can't stay there & I don't have anyone who could come over.

I'm terrified about hurting the baby with the panic attacks!

I asked DH not to go away with work while I was pregnant but he reckons he doesn't have a choice.

Really worried & no clue what to do!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Can you buy some of those cheap intruder door alarms from bunnings that you can put on all the obvious entry points...they are easy to put on yourself and make a huge sound if tripped. That might soothe your fears of intruders robbers etc?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts