+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Difficult Situation

So this is difficult! I am fairly new to my job and the girl I share my office with is gay. We get along tremendously, she is a lovely but there is another co-worker there (male) and he is also gay and they are really close friends. Anyway, everyday he will come in and speak to my 'roomie' and sort of completely by pass me, not say hi or anything. The only time he talks to me is if he needs something from me. This is everyday! He will joke with her and I feel like I don't exist!!

Also, today one of the reps came in to our office (she is also gay) and a few moments later the guy who ignores me (lets call him X). X greeted both of them 'hello lesbians' and completely ignored me, he gave them hugs goodbye-not me! Asked them what they were doing on the weekend etc etc.

Anyway, I feel, as you can imagine-discluded. Just because I'm not gay, doesn't mean I don't want to be included. Does anyone have any advice?

Also, going back to my first point of me getting along really well with my roomie/office colleague...it would be nice to hang out with her outside of work, but I again feel like her and none of the others would invite me out because I'm not gay!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a week
    Look, you're just going to have to become gay to fit in!

Only kidding, I'd say it's mostly to do with you being new and this is probably how they carry on all the time.
    Did you replace some one in your new job?
    Maybe he's wary of you until he gets to know you?
    Some people are just like this.
    Do you include yourself when they make jokes, laugh with them, or set yourself apart?
    I'd be very surprised if what they are doing was to intentionally make you feel uncomfortable or unwelcome there.