+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Feeding to Sleep

I've gotten into the habit of feeding 9 mth DS to sleep. Actually, I've been doing it for a couple of months because it works and is easy most nights. He will still go to sleep sometimes by rocking. Some nights I'm ok with the fact that he's fed to sleep and other nights I think should stop doing it.

At the moment he has a bottle at night and then normally sleeps for 7-8 hours, has another bottle and then goes straight back to sleep. His naps after a bottle can last anywhere from 40 minutes to 3 hours.

So, does anyone else feed to sleep? How and when did you stop? How long was the adjustment? What about the night waking - do/did you still feed to sleep? (I don't think I would have the energy to do anything else at that time of night)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I fed DD to sleep until she stopped having the bottle so wheb she was a year an half. It was very easy to do so and after a long day I wasn't prepared for any struggles.

From bottle we went to rocking but mostly I just had to hold her till she falls asleep, this lasted for a month then I sat on bed next to her and by 2 and half she was happy for kiss and good night.

Edit: re night wakings, DD was never one to wake up much but when she did rocking or a pat is what I did. I would not have energy to feed in the middle of night. I should add at the time we slept in same room but different beds.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I fed both my kids to sleep as babies. Both of them stopped wanting to be fed/cuddled around 10 - 12 months (with no encouragement from me) and would only go to sleep in their beds on their own. I think if your happy doing it, do it cause they're little for a short time.

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to new mum 15809 For This Useful Post:

Mambo  (23-01-2014),nonny  (23-01-2014)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts