Hello and congratulations on this wonderful and exciting time in your life.

My name is Sarah, and I am currently studying midwifery at the University of Queensland. A large part of my degree involves following and supporting women throughout their pregnancy, labour and post natal period in a process called the Continuity of Care Experience.

While this is invaluable to me as a student in my learning process, women who have participated in this program in the past often report that having a student midwife provides a friendly, familiar face during a time which can be filled with uncertainty. Furthermore, research[i] has shown that women who receive continuity of care from a known provider, even if that's a student, have much better outcomes including lower rates of intervention for both the mother and newborn, feeling well- prepared for labour, being able to freely discuss any concerns felt during the pregnancy and were less likely to be admitted into hospital antenatally and use pain relief during labour and childbirth.

As part of the program we have the opportunity to follow women throughout their pregnancy, birth and the postnatal period until their baby is six weeks old, allowing us to get to know the woman and her family, having the chance to discuss her thoughts and feelings and ultimately experiencing the journey from the woman's perspective.