+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Dr said she expects me to miscarry based on HCG levels... Im not convinced?

Hi All,
    This is my first time on the boards. After a phone call with my Dr today re: HCG blood levels I have been googling and reading as much as I can. I have PCOS and got a referral to my ob/gyn. I started on clomid and had my first normal period in years from my first round of 50mg clomid.

I increased to 75mg for my second round and ovulated day 20. I had a faint positive HPT 12dpo& HCG 54 on 13dpo. Dr asked me to retest and the earliest I could was 16dpo (almost 72hrs after first HCG) and the level was 124. I phoned Dr today (17dpo) to get my results and she matter of factly said that my levels were too low and she expects I will miscarry within the next 2 weeks. This has obviously come as a shock.

She advised me to watch for ectopic pregnancy symptoms. When I asked if it was possible that the pregnancy was still viable her comments were "not impossible but I want you to prepare for the worst" and that she would "bet" on a MC. I started reading various HCG level information so I could understand what exactly about my bloods had her so certain. Correct me if I'm wrong but is doubling time within the 48-72hour period the "normal" range? According to the HCG calculator my doubling time is 59-60hrs. I guess I still fail to see why my Dr is so sure. For now I would prefer to remain optimistic (without slipping into denial lol). I would love to hear your thoughts, meanwhile I will just keep my fingers crossed that everything is ok.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Welcome Lalee, I'm sorry you're going through this stress at what should be a very exciting time.