+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Autism - traits and achievements

Hi all.

Some of you will know me, I'm a bit of a veteran when it comes to autism related forums. I'm here from time to time, with worries and complaints and I felt its time to focus on the good stuff.

As all kids, ASD kids are all different. So what makes your child tick? What are his/her autistic traits, what makes them so special and what are their achievements?

My DS is 3.5 years, some of his autistic traits include;

Flapping his hands when excited.
    Repeating phrases from movies or ads.
    Loves watching things fall and spin.
    Loves running past things looking at objects sideways.
    Cannot interact with other children.

His "achievements" are; (some of these things are considered normal for NT kids, but for my DS its a big deal)

He has reasonably good eye contact.
    He wants to interact (adults only)
    He knows all his shapes, colours, alphabet.
    Can count to 60 and backwards from 10.
    Can read 70+ words and is starting to sound out new words.
    Is starting to get his toys to "talk" to each other - pretend play.

No matter what level your child is at, their achievements should be acknowledged. Remember some things are harder for our kids that others take for granted. When my child learns something new, I want to shout it from the roof top. ITs not always easy, and some things get you down, but I also realised that sometimes I forget to focus on the things he can do.

So what are your childs autistic traits and achievements?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    That's an awesome achievement for any child that age so you should be proud.