+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Diet Soft Drinks - Are they bad??

So I have given up juice (for weight loss and to be healthier ie. no sugar diet)- which I basically used to live off - because I really dislike water (bad I know) - but after drinking only water for a couple of weeks I gave up and started drinking zero sugar/diet soft drinks. So is this bad do you think and why??

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I'm no expert but fairly certain diet soft drinks are worse than normal ones, I think it has something to do with the phenylalanine content. Not sure about the "zero" versions though.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Apart from artificial sweetners being really bad. It's a proven fact artificial sweetners actual cause weight gain. They are sweet so the body creates a chemical reaction anticipating energy from the sweetness, however as they don't have the calories or "energy" to match the body then sends signals out to consume to get that energy

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Plan2bamummy For This Useful Post:

Mahjong  (12-01-2014),PurpleButterfly4  (11-01-2014)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    I drink a bit of coke zero, which I'd like to give up.

It's bad because:

- acidic - although ok, if you drink it quickly and then wash your teeth with water so your teeth aren't bathing in it all day

- apparently the fake sugar can make you crave the real sugar so you end up not eating any less sugar anyway

- there is some contention about whether the fake sure in them can cause cancer or some health issues

Have you tried soda water? It's just carbonated water and can be quite satisfying.

Thanks
    Reviews