+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Day 2/3 of TT - broken up by daycare - not sure whether to push on

DS is 2y7m. I've been preparing him for TT for a few months, saying that he'd wear undies & go in the toilet when he was a big boy etc. He sporadically tells us after doing a poo - maybe 30% of the time, and never for a wee. But he has decided he wanted to wear undies (asked for them Weds morning), so I thought Id give TT a go. I am trying the 3 day method, but pretty modified in that we can't do 3 continuous days, some days we have to leave the house, and he goes to day care 2 days a week. I also do ask him / try him on the toilet from time to time (against the advice of the method) as well as rushing him to the toilet when a wee starts (what the method suggests).

So first day, we only had 1/2 a day to TT, and it was basically all wees on the floor, as I expected. No problem - just praised him lots.

2nd day was day care - took him in undies and they put him back into a pull-up once he'd had an accident pretty soon after arriving. They put him on the toilet every 20 mins and once he did do a wee on the toilet

Today is the 2nd real day of TT and we have stayed in all day. He has done pretty well in that he's finished off 2 wees on the toilet, after I plonked him on it when he'd started on the floor. Earlier this arvo he did 2 other wees on the toilet after I put him on there before he had started. I have rewarded him with lots of praise & stickers these times.

The rest of the arvo has been terrible though - wees on the floor every 15 min. I have found it pretty dispiriting after the earlier progress. I may have given him too much fluid!