+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Pregnancy and shift work

Hi ladies
    Im planning on telling my bosses im pregnant in about 2 weeks. Just waiting for the nt scan etc.
    Im curious for those of you who work shift work etc, how long could you work for before you had to go on leave.
    I work in manufacturing. A steel plant!
    I do 12 hour day and night shifts.
    I think one of the first questions they will ask is how long ill work for..
    This place is hugely male dominated, to the point where I dont think they have had a pregnant lady here before so I imagine it will make them quite nervous.
    Any help would be appreciated!
    Xx

Sent from my GT-N7105T using The Bub Hub mobile app

MilkingMaid is offline Winner 2009 - Mod Award - most supportive member
    Question those who don't question authority
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a week
    When I was pregnant with my first, I also worked in a very male dominated industry, I was a stevedore on the wharf. The guys were actually really sweet, lots of them were Dads, and one guys wife was due the same time as me, so none of that was an issue to be honest.
    I worked up until 4 weeks before birth, I was driving trucks a lot, and it got quite bumpy over the concrete/ashphalt about 7 1/2 months, so I had to be placed on restricted duties, out of the trucks, also interestingly enough, the strength in my hands diminished a fair bit due to the hormone relaxin which helps to soften ligaments etc, which made things a bit hard, due to the highly physical nature of the job at times (lashing containers onto ships with heavy steel bars etc) but the workplace was generally very accomadating and supportive.