+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Feeling lost

I wasn’t sure where to put this but I’m hoping other working mums have been in a similar position :-)
    I’m a SAHM to a 5 month old DS. I love it but I’m feeling a bit lost in regards to my career. I was an accountant prior to having DS. I really enjoyed where I was working however I wasn’t there long before I fell pregnant so after that I think things were a bit tense. I told them I’d be coming back in February but DH has said that I could stay at home until DS turns 1 at least and I’m taking him up on that. I can’t even imagine going back to work any time soon and feel so so grateful I can stay at home.
    Accounting isn’t really a profession where you can take lots of time off and slip back into it. I took 10 months off at one stage and had a hard enough time getting back in! Plus there are not many part time jobs at all. Even my work was trying to push me to 4 days a week once I go back :-/
    I also have my personal training certs. I’ve had my own business but I’m not sure I want to return to that as I know how hard I worked to try and attract clients. I don’t think I want to spend that time doing that whilst I have young children. It was a similar story when I worked within the gym environment.
    Now I have no idea where to go from here. DH is going for a new job and he mentioned that if he is successful I may not have to go back to work at all until all the kids are in school. I’ve never pictured myself as a SAHM so I’d still like to do something, but I have no idea what. I’ve gone from job to job, studied and tried so many different things that I’d feel so silly going in a complete new direction. But to be honest I feel like that’s what I need.