+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    lambjam is offline Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! Tweak!
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default Sewing machine recommendations please!

I'm a complete beginner so need something that's simple to use, but I also don't want to find myself wanting to replace it in a few years if I find myself sewing a fair bit. So something suitable for beginner-intermediate, solid and reliable, maximum $700.

Go!

(What do people "in the know" think of this deal?)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Sounds like a good deal it has heaps of features - although I can't see anywhere about warranty. You might want to check that out and if you can get one (or even an extended one at a good price) it might be recommended. An overlocker is such a great gadget, your garments look so much more finished and you will be more inclined to continue. Good luck!

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Hulahoop For This Useful Post:

lambjam  (26-10-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I bought Janome machines when I was finally utd the first time. My machine has been great, but is a little more than what you're looking at - but in saying that I haven't used half the gadgets either - so $700 would probably get you something decent without the bells and whistles you don't need. Would definitely recommend the overlocker too. Sometimes places do packages or discounts. Automatic button holes are the bomb! Pity they didn't clip them for you too.

Ultimately an industrial machine would be fantastic, but I can't justify the money. I've sewed so many curtains and upholstory type things that the extra strength would be great.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Little Ted For This Useful Post:

lambjam  (26-10-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts