+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Im at my wits end with toilet training- one year on and still wetting his pants sigh!

Honestly, I am out of ideas and so upset. I started training my son at 2.5 years old. He is now 3.5 years old and knows perfectly well how to go to the toilet - if he has no pants or jocks on. As soon as undies and shorts go on, he wets himself, and he doesnt even care! he will happily play in wet pants ugh! The moment i take him out of the house ANYWHERE in jocks and shorts, he will wet himself rather than tell me he needs to go. ive tried every tactic you can think of on this - reward systems, encoragement, asking him every 20 minutes, even leaving him wet (yes, Im desperate here!), and the opposite - telling him off/discipline also. Nothing works. Im ashamed, Im embarrased and what hurts the most is the criticism from family/friends that this is my fault! I feel terrible! I trained my oldest child DD with no problems, inside of about 6 weeks. I dont know why my DS is so different. He is also still in nappies at night.

Please, can anyone make any suggestions? Thanks ever so much x

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Would you consider pull ups? And just not mention the toilet.

Maybe he is just not clicking when he needs the toilet when in undies, has a false idea that he's still in a nappy.

I'm just thinking that using pull ups and leaving the issue may actually help sort it out.

Sent from my GT-I9100T using The Bub Hub mobile app

Thanks
    Reviews
    Quote Originally Posted by dancingchipmunk View Post
    Would you consider pull ups? And just not mention the toilet. I'm just thinking that using pull ups and leaving the issue may actually help sort it out.

Hello,