+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Starting a family when 70% sure about partner

(posting undercover)

Have you been unsure whether your partner is 'the one' and started a family anyway? DP and I were going to be TTC soon. But I feel so frustrated I wonder if we should break up. I've been through counselling but can't really figure it out...

We've been together 3 years. DP is 13 years older. I'm at that age when I need to start thinking about having children. DP and I currently live with in-laws as I'm studying full-time and DP has only been able to find work 2 days a week. I should be in a quite well paying job soon after uni finishes.

DP has been depressed and won't go to counselling. We have se.x every few months and I find our se.x life completely unfulfilling. DP does not wear clean clothes every day, and has a LOT of self-confidence issues. Because DP looks unkempt all the time, I'm sometimes anxious about us being seen in public together. Think butt crack showing, greasy hair, wearing a shirt 3 sizes too small 3 days in a row. Gross. DP does not really do any activities without me.

DP is my best friend, and our relationship does have lots of cuddles, humour, conversation and fun. DP is very kind and wants the same things in life I want.

I resent DP for being so unkempt and for not earning enough money to support us. I worry that unless DP gets it together soon, I will always be the main breadwinner and always be battling through life without getting enough out of it for me. I feel responsible for helping DP through this difficult time, and it's exhausting. I want someone I find attractive, who I can have s.ex with regularly, and who contributes to the household. I wonder if I would even be better off as a single parent if it came to that.

Should I cut my losses and look elsewhere? Should I give DP an ultimatum? I am looking for any words of advice or support... Thanks in advance...