+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Guilt as a SAHM

Hi, I'm new to all this but I do not have anyone to talk to so I thought it would be a good way to vent and talk to like minded people.
    Is anyone else made to feel guilty because they are a SAHM?
    My husband is a painter and earns $50 000 a year, we get Family Assistance benefits because of our lower income, I work one Saturday a month to help out a little financially but other than that I am a fulltime mother to two children, a daughter 4.5 and a son 2.5.
    I find a lot of my friends and family make me feel guilty because we have chosen to have a parent be at home until our youngest is in school, which is another 3 years away. Yes, we do not find it easy financially paying a mortgage and living but we make do with what we have, we buy only what is necessary and we live on a very strict budget, the main thing is we are happy. But I can't help but feel like people have a go at me for not helping out my husband/family financially or make my husband feel guilty for not having a better paying job.
    They always seem to have a go at us as because we are going to put our children through public schooling as they are all going for private schooling which we can't afford even if I did work full time. They think we are weird when we say going to lollipops playground or hype 4 kids is just not in the budget.
    Do you think they really don't understand why we live this way or do you think they are jealous?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I don't know but what is your income once you include the ftb and other benefits?
    Last edited by Chew the Mintie; 04-10-2013 at 18:58.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts