+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Struggling...

1 week ago I did a test. Only cus I was still feeling nauseous after flu and had some lying around since getting new BBT (for contraceptive purposes!!!)
    Faint positive, I studied my period diary and was so convinced it was false positive and probably ovarian cancer...
    Fast forward 7 days and 7 positive tests, no period, I'm pretty sure somehow I am actually pregnant at 40. With sperm that somehow survived for 5 days.
    Ugh here I go again obsessing about how this happened and not dealing with reality.

Since turning 40 this year I've had lots internal conflict about what was next for me, if I was 100% sure I was finished with having kids (my 2 are 4 & 6). My cycles starting changing and I'm pretty sure I was ovulating erratically. I think because of my perceived loss of fertility and unresolved feelings I wasn't as careful as I should have been. I keep telling DP he has freaky sperm cus my fertility book says it is theoretically possible for sperm to survive for 5 days but unlikely. Gees here I go again, how did it happen. I guess I feel guilty that we are in this situation. It was freaky and I had already discussed with him the difficulty I was having figuring out when I was safe (we had successfully used natural method for 4 years). But I still feel guilty that I wasn't careful enough, I should have insisted on condoms when I wasn't sure or got him to think about the snip.

I'm definitely not happy that I'm pregnant, but DP is more upset than I expected - he's pretty adaptable usually and realistically was aware that our natural method wasn't as safe, but probably like me just thought it was me heading towards menopause.