+ Reply to Thread

Default Is this normal?

I start full time work next week and have to put my 2.5 year old and 4 month old into daycare. I am going back to work full time out of necessity rather than choice. I am a mess. Every time I think about not being with my baby I start to cry. I'm so upset that I won't be there for her and that she will spend more time with someone else than with me. I'm not as worried about my 2.5 year old because I think he will love daycare and it will be good for him. I am a kindergarten teacher so they will be at the same centre as me so I am a lot luckier than some other mothers but this is not making it any easier.

Is this crying normal? Did other mothers go through this? I am dreading my first day at work cause I know I will cry in front of my new workmates. I just want the crying to stop. I don't want to be upset in front of my kids either.

Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    I think it's normal, I just started back at work 3 weeks ago and felt incredibly sad that my daughter would wake up from her sleeps and be cuddled by someone other than me :-( however when I pick her up and the end of the day she's so happy to see me, and I truly cherish every second I spend with her now, as opposed to sometimes just going through the motions. I cried on my first day but it does her easier. Good luck :-)

Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Firstly big hugs to you. This is completely normal. This is your baby and you have an emotional link to her. You have probably been with her 24/7 since she was conceived. I cried on my son's first day at daycare at age 2. 3.5 years later I blubbered all the way to work after dropping him off on his first day at school. My dd went to her 1st day at daycare when she was 8 months old. Broke my heart.