+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Student midwife!

Hello ladies,

Am a complete novice when it comes to Bub Hub so hoping I'm posting this in the right place!

Before I even start, may I just say congratulations on your pregnancies! May it be your first or you've been through it all before- I'm sure you're all excited to be on this journey!

A little bit about me to start off: My name is Jess and I'm super passionate about midwifery, and can't wait to finally call myself a 'registered midwife'. I'm currently undertaking a double degree at Monash University- Bachelor of Nursing and Bachelor of Midwifery and am currently at the end of my first year. I'd like to say I'm fun, caring, respectful, open and love to engage with people, but I am extremely serious and professional when need be.

As you may have already figured, I am a student midwife from Monash University (nearly finished my first year of university) and am looking for some lovely pregnant ladies who wouldn't mind me 'following' them throughout their pregnancy.

At uni, we call this 'continuity of care (COC) partnerships'...maybe you've had a student midwife before, or heard of it, but for those who are asking the question, ''what is that?/what does it mean?!'', I'll give you a run down!

Each midwifery student is required to have 20 COC's in order to be registered. We follow the woman through her pregnancy, birth and then post-birth. May I just say though, that the 'birth' is absolutely optional, and in no way will I ever force you to let me in. Don't get me wrong though- it would be an absolute pleasure to support you through your birth, so if you were willing, I'd be happy to be there!