+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default When did you start maternity leave and how did you cope at work?

I'm due at the end of Feb and would like to finish off work at the end of Jan, but am worried about how I'll cope through Dec. I work in retail and am on my feet the whole day. I even eat on the job if it's busy and we're understaffed. Dec is our busiest time of yr, so staff are not allowed to take annual leave at that time. If I finish off in Dec instead, that would be way too early, but at the same time, if I get too stressed, my blood pressure may go up and adversely affect mine and bub's health. I'm normally quite fast and efficient but may find myself too tired to maintain the same pace also.

When I chat to the boss, I think I will set my end date as 31 Jan anyway, but was wondering how everyone else went with working in their 3rd tri.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I worked until 37 weeks and coped ok. I didn't have air con at home so was actually more comfortable at work!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I worked til 36 weeks and found it hard as my job was stressful (child protection social work) and the pace of getting DS to child care, me to work, working all day, coming home and getting dinner ready and DS to bed became too much. I also had some insomnia in the third trimester so was sometimes doing this on very little sleep.

if you're going to be on your feet all day at a busy time of year I expect you'll find it really hard, though you won't be too heavily pregnant for the first part of it at least.