+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Anyone taken on a midwife student?

I got in the post yesterday a letter from the hospital I'm booked into, asking if I wanted to take on a midwife student from UTS.
    I'm a nurse myself so I know how invaluable experience is and I've always preceptored/educated students at the hospital I work at, so I was leaning towards sharing my personal pregnancy experience with one but was wondering if any hubbers had done this already and what their experiences were like.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I did for my entire pregnancy and delivery. Was the best thing I ever did. I had a real great connection with my student midwife which I felt really helped.
    She attended most appointments with me and was able to explain some of the terminology the drs were using.
    As long as you like the midwife you end up with I say go for it!

3. The Following User Says Thank You to lisaandshaun For This Useful Post:

SpecialK  (24-08-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    I did with DD1 and it was a great experience. She was there for all of my ante natal appointments and for the delivery of my DD. She was quite lovely and it was nice having a familiar face during DD1's birth.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to amazonbaby For This Useful Post:

SpecialK  (24-08-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    That's my worry, if we don't click. You an opt out if you want but I'd hate to leave them in the lurch.
    I'm a nurse so I know what's going in regards to appointments etc but I thought it might be quite a unique experience to have.

Busy-Bee is offline Offending people since before Del :D
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    Awards:
    Past Moderator - Thank you