+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Family daycare frustration!!!

DS goes to a fdc 5days a fortnight while I'm at work. He goes for no there reason then I am at work (as is DH and my mum).

I'm a nurse who lives 30odd klm out of town (rural property) and work 7-330, so drop DS off just before 7 and pick up 330-45. I find out that the carer is only working to midday on Thursday. It isn't an option for me to swap days or take the day off (I have zero leave and really need money so can't take leave without pay) I also can't finish work at 12, possibly at 230 but def not at 12. I replied to her txt saying that I needed either full day or nothing, couldn't leave work that early etc etc. I get a txt today saying she will be charging for care until midday Thursday as she is available for work.

There are limited friends I could get to look after Samuel, most of which live 30+ min out of town and wouldn't be able to go to get DS at midday if I sent to fdc for the morning. Even if I got someone in town to have him from 12, I would still need to get him from fdc to the friend. 12 is about the worst time of day to leave work for a few minutes. Also I don't want to disrupt DS, he normally goes to sleep 1230ish so if he went somewhere else at 12 it would just stir him up and he wouldn't sleep (or still be asleep when I pick him up). Both guaranteed ways to have a grumpy sh!tty kid all arvo/night.

If I sent him to a friend all day u have to pay for 2 lots of care - 1/2 day at fdc and for someone else to actually look after DS. So I basically have to be out of pocket $40 odd because my fdc carer wants to go away.

I have no idea what to do, any advice? I would like to change carers but there's oy 1 other fdc in town (no centres) and she's always full up (has a spot in a few months but I will be on maternity leave by then and won't be using care)

Sorry for the ridiculously long post.

Thanks