+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Luteal Phase Defect

I would like to hear from ladies that have been diagnosed with a LPD.

I have had two failed IVF cycles and about to embark on my third. I have been charting my cycles for a couple of months now and the trend I've found is that i start heavy spotting/light bleeding 8-9 days after ovaluation symptoms (this is not confirmed with opks, I've never had a positive on one despite using one for 14 days straight for several cycles).

On Friday, I started bleeding, which slowed to heavy spotting over the weekend. My progesterone on Friday was still 40, so far too high to be AF. Today I'm experiencing full flow AF but my progesterone is still sitting high at 16.7

After a quick Google is wasn't hard to find that this isn't right. My nurse coordinator thinks it can be fixed with extra progesterone support, but my levels are fine. One type of LPD I found was where the lining doesn't respond to the progesterone. I won't see my FS until EPU now.

Our infertility is caused by a number of issues, Endo, PCOS, Blocked tube and MFI.

Does anyone have any ideas or advice? Thank you all in advance.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Hi Ngaiz!
    I also had LPD. Some cycles I would bleed from 6 days post transfer even the 3 days.
    Our issues were similar to you. Endo, mild pocs, blocked tube, mfi.

My FS said it was likely an issue with progesterone... I used 2 x pessaries per day from 4 days before transfer this cycle. I also did accupuncture to start sorting my cycle lengths (common for me to have 2 AF in a 4-5 week period).

Not sure what was the fix but if we werent successful my pessary use was going to be dramatically increased next cycle!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Apologies crinone for first 3 weeks then pessaries. I have also heard that crinone doesnt neccesarily show accurately in BT due to how your body absorbs...