+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Newborns: What were the first few weeks like for you?

Hi all,

Just wondering what your first few weeks were like with a newborn? We're you able to go out or mostly house bound? Did you introduce the baby to friends/extended family in one big hit (wet the babies head) or did you take visitors over a period of time?

Im quite nervous about this stage, and am likely to deliver around Christmas time which is a hectic time of year and probably adding to my nerves. Wondering whether we should organize a get together for post birth in order to reduce the ****** of visitors incase we are having a hard time, but is it reasonable to take a newborn out to a garden bar/cafe?

Thanks!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I'm a midwife and I found it overwhelming!! We had too many visitors and I got exhausted. Sleep deprivation is a real shock to the system! Most babies feed Atleast 2 hourly. But the first few weeks they are generally asleep most of the time do you don't have to settle then back to sleep. They tend to wake up a bit after week 3.

I would limit your visitors, accept lots of help, don't be afraid to tell people you need space. I also didn't like lots of people handling my baby as people were inconsiderate and still came sick.

We took DD out to dinner and breakfast lots in the first few weeks when she would sleep anywhere. No problems.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to BlueLips For This Useful Post:

JungleMum  (22-07-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    It depends so much on how bub is and how you're feeling at the time. Avoid making plans, you don't need the pressure of keeping them!